This is an official website of Indian Philatelists' Forum * Join Indian Philatelists' Forum * This is an official website of Indian Philatelists' Forum
Home » Stamps » Joint Issues » India - Peru

Joint Issues : India - Peru

Stamp Design/Theme: Machu Picchu Mountains and Tajmahal.
Occasion: 50th anniversary of diplomatic relations between India and Peru.

Peru and India celebrated the 50th anniversary of their diplomatic relations on 25th March 2013. A ceremony took place at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Lima, Peru in the presence of Peru's Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs Jose Beraun and Indian Ambassador Manpreet Vohra.

Peru has issued Joint Issue stamps depicting Machu Picchu mountains and Taj Mahal, the 7 wonders of the respective countries.

Issue Date: -
Note: India had announced India Peru Joint Issue (Set of 2 Stamps) in the 2013 Stamp Issue Calendar but till date stamp has not been issued.

Issue Date: 19.03.2013
Setenant Pair, Sheet of 25 pairs.
Denomination: 3.60 Nuevo Sol each

Machu Picchu is located in the Cusco Region of Peru, South America. It is situated on a mountain ridge above the Urubamba Valley in Peru, which is 80 kilometres northwest of Cusco and through which the Urubamba River flows. Most archaeologists believe that Machu Picchu was built as an estate for the Inca emperor Pachacuti (1438–1472). Often referred to as the "Lost City of the Incas", it is perhaps the most familiar icon of Inca civilization. Machu Picchu was declared a Peruvian Historical Sanctuary in 1981 and a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1983. In 2007, Machu Picchu was voted one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in a worldwide Internet poll.

The Taj Mahal is a white marble mausoleum located in Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India. It was built by Mughal emperor Shah Jahan in memory of his third wife, Mumtaz Mahal. The Taj Mahal is widely recognized as "the jewel of Muslim art in India and one of the universally admired masterpieces of the world's heritage". Taj Mahal is regarded by many as the finest example of Mughal architecture, a style that combines elements from Islamic, Persian, Ottoman Turkish and Indian architectural styles. In 1983, the Taj Mahal became a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Tajmahal is also one of the Seven Wonders of the World.

Go to TOP